Friday, February 6, 2009

Introducing Sabah!

Sabah, Malaysia
Once a British protectorate is now part of Malaysia after gained independence in 1963 from the British North Borneo Company ( British Crown Colony) from the early 1800s

It is the second largest state in Malaysia after Sarawak, which it borders on its south-west. It also shares a border with (1) The Sultanate of Brunei Darussalam and (2) the province of East Kalimantan of Indonesia in the south.
Altogether these are the nations occupying the sacred land of Borneo ;p

In spite of its status as a Malaysian state, Sabah remains a disputed territory; the Philippines has a dormant claim over the territory (while the populations of Sabah denying these claims)

The capital of Sabah is Kota Kinabalu, formerly known as Jesselton. Literally Sabah is known as "Sabah, negeri di bawah bayu", which means "Sabah, the land below the winds", because of its location just south of the typhoon-prone region around the Philippines and (probably the most popular reason) the presence of Mount Kinabalu a 4,095 metres (13,435 ft) above sea level and is South East Asia highest summit.

No comments:

Post a Comment